Is It Spring????

dsc00015.jpg

Do I dare say maybe spring has sprung finally???  I mean the beautiful blue sky, the majestic Mt Rainier out in all her glory and the 57 degree temperatures sure do feel good.

The weather is so nice that we spent all of yesterday outside.  I wish I could say just basking in the sun, but heck no.  Hubby and I got one shed totally cleaned out, weeded out and condensed down.  We also found our garage YAHOO.  So we worked our buns off I can tell you that much.  I wheeled mama right on out there with us so she could watch, plus enjoy the nice day.

I can’t even count how many boxes I went through, and all the unnecessary junk we have been keeping.  Then there’s all of mama’s endless boxes of mmm “stuff.”  I do have to admit it was fun going through some of her stuff.  It’s so old and dang she even has all of our report cards from 1st grade up.  Baby pictures galore and old pictures.  I spent a lot of time looking at those.  But to be honest it would take months to look at each and every pic and read all the newspaper articles she has kept throughout the years.  Plenty of history in those boxes I know that much.

One of the guys hubby works with has a huge family and they are in need of alot of things.  Well he came out yesterday and got our old refrigerator, then ended up with a truck load.  Stands we didn’t want, tables, tons of clothes for all his kids, my old pots and pans, lamps.  It was great, cause he made a dent in our good will pile, and great knowing they really need the stuff.

The garage, yeah I can walk in there, find things easy and actually see the floor.  Now that is almost like a miracle in itself!!!  A great accomplishment having this “spring fever” but ohhhhhhhhh I am getting old.  Creaky bones, sore back, you name it.  Maybe I should have used some 3 in 1 oil to loosen up the ol joints before I started.  I moaned and groaned all through supper and an evening of tv but come bowling time, yeah we bowled.  Moaning and groaning but still had a good time!!   🙂

Now it’s time to start the spare room.  Correction finish.  Hubby has a great start in there and it’s almost ready to be primed.  We are paining it the antique white and keeping it real simple in there.  Makes the room look bigger and of course much cleaner.  Seems like there are never ending projects to do, but we are making headway.

Naturally the world stops during American Idol, haha.  Oh yeah can’t do anything but sit in front of the tv for that.  I personally like Michael Johns for the guys.  I think and hope he goes all the way.  I know I should wait until the girls sing tonight, but mmm my impression of them from the auditions etc isn’t that great.  The motorcycle nurse drives me NUTS.  You can tell I am old, I just want to get ahold of her black and white skunky hair and do something with it.  Yeah I am terrible, I don’t like her cause of her hair.  Whew bet she is glad I am not a judge!!!  🙂

4 Responses to Is It Spring????

  1. Kellie says:

    I LOVE when I get a ton of stuff done!! Sounds like you guys got a lot done AND helped out a family in need….that’s a beautiful thing 🙂

    I record Idol and watch it later so I can fast forward through the commercials. I’m pretty sure I skipped throuh most of the performances. I’d watch the first minute or so and then skip to the next one. Short attention span on my part 🙂

    I love that your Mom kept all that stuff!! I wish my Mom had–when she and my step-Dad divorced, she didn’t take any of the pictures or boxes of “memories” from when my sister and I were growing up. I’m sure, by now, he’s thrown it all away. Makes me sad 😦

  2. Angie says:

    I Love that picture. That is awesome.

    Sounds like you guys kicked butt and got a lot done. It’s awesome to go down memory lane.

    I have become such a slacker watching Idol. There’s way too much on to watch. I am over stressed.

  3. kelly m says:

    K now get the spare room nice and clean and prestine and READY for me when I come to visit!

  4. Rachel says:

    Great pic!! You are a cleaning machine!!!! That’s alot to get done. I’ve been watching Idol, but I missed the last two episodes, so I didn’t really hear any of them sing.

Leave a comment