Well Darn Anyway

Bigger than the last!!

Yeah can you believe this crap??  Here last week I was bragging about getting the report no breaks and whipping off that cast so fast, and having hubby trash it.  Didn’t write that not 10 minutes later I was begging him to dig it out of the trash due to the dang pain.  Trust me I am so not a stranger to pain and feel my tolerance is high due to this RSDS I have.  BUT, oh geeze the thumb, it was the sick to your stomach, gut wrenching type and I couldn’t hang!!!

Anyway it was off to the doctors yet again for another follow up, Madigan loves their follow ups!!!  This time it was the cast room and the ortho doctor.  More x-rays and after a THREE AND A HALF HOUR wait, I have a hairline fracture in my thumb of all places!!!  So here I go another three weeks in a cast.  This one ugh, placed differently and so much thicker, hard to get used to, but guess I have no choice huh??

I had my appt for 10:45am.  I knew I couldn’t leave mama sleeping cause that would be way late for her by the time I got back home.  So had my grandson come with us and he was going to stay in the car with mama.  After that I promised to buy him lunch at the PX, cause he says the food court there is the best.   No problem, after all the cast room appt always are fast.  I know because a few years back with my foot I had six months of serial casting.  Would go over every Wednesday get the full leg cast cut off and another one put on, grrr.  Anyway in I go check in, get more x-rays and wait.  And wait, and wait and wait.  Finally at noon I asked how much longer.  Yeah he says well you have NINE people ahead of you!!!  WHAT??!!!!  He tells me the doctor is running behind.  NO!!!!!!!!!!!!! I never would have guessed that after a few hours of wait time.  So I go out to the car, cause yeah I left my phone out there. Checking up on mama and Bryce to make sure all was aok.  Poor Bryce in the car 3 1/2 hours answering all of mama’s repeated questions , but he did awesome and I am proud of him for that.  I finally got out of there at 1:30pm.  Trust me we were all starving and I couldn’t get to the PX fast enough!!!!!!  I was also extremely bummed to be sporting another cast but not much I can do about it!!!! Just grin and bear it.

Okay now for the funny!!!  You have to know me by now, right?  I so don’t mean to be funny it just happens okay??!!!  Each night during our “wii-wii” time 🙂  I get into the game!!!!  When I miss or get a split I have a habit of putting my right hand like on my head. You know bend the elbow and like reach for the other side of your head, so the arm is smack on top, got it??  Remember I said this cast was heavier and on different???  MMMMM the cast is now on the side that lays on top of my head.  Yep sure enough, crap nearly knocked myself out the first time I missed a pin..  Whipped that arm over my head like “oh no” and damn clunked myself with this damn plaster.  I let out a yelp and my husband was like “what the hell is wrong?”  Yeah he got himself a good long laugh over that one!!!  Damn I am shocked I don’t have goose egg this morning, cause I kept forgetting and just continued to whack myself on the head all night long.  Habit are so hard to break !!!!!   Plus my bowling lately sucks big time, so lot’s of whacks to says the least!! Tonight I have to do my best to break that one though!!!

That way my day yesterday, so I am hoping today is much better!! Have a few errands to run.  Stopped at the Good Will on the way home yesterday and found the white flats for my granddaughters costume, brand new and only $3.99, plus found a white cardigan sweater for her too.  She did get her dress yesterday and whew it fits perfectly!!!  go Grandma, hahaha  See I rock when it comes to keeping the grandkids happy!!! hahaha.

One Response to Well Darn Anyway

  1. Rachel says:

    Sorry about the cast. Better than the pain, though, right?

    I knew you were gonna hurt yourself with that thing, but I still laughed!

Leave a comment